Fedex Cup

The FedEx Cup is a championship trophy for the PGA Tour. Its introduction marked the first time that men's professional golf had a playoff system. Announced in November 2005, it was first awarded in 2007 after a NASCAR-like points race. The reigning champion is American Jim Furyk.

For the first portion of the season from January through to the latter part of August, PGA Tour players can earn points in each event they play in. The number of points for winning each tournament varies from 250 to 600, depending on the quality of the field for each event, with the typical tournament awarding 500.

The aim is to be among the top 125 Points Leaders following the final event of the regular season. Only those players who are regular full-time members of the PGA Tour will earn points.

After the final event of the regular season, the top 125 players take part in the playoffs. The number of points for winning each playoff tournament is 2500 - five times the amount for a typical regular season tournament. Points won in playoff events are added to those for the regular season, and the fields are reduced as the playoffs proceed.

After the third playoff event, the top 30 players move to the final event. Points are reset at that time, so the leading player has 2500 points, the second player has 2250 points, down to the 30th player who is given 210 points. The goal is to ensure that any of the 30 players has a chance to win the FedEx Cup, but give the top players the best chance, with all of the top five players assured of winning the FedEx Cup by winning the Tour Championship.

See video below

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a golf professional?